The AAPD is pleased that the federal Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) has awarded nine (9) new FY 2022 grants under the Dental Faculty Loan Repayment Program (DFRLP), totaling $657,655. These new awards are in addition to 20 DFLRP continuation grants first awarded in FYs 2018 and 2021, totaling $3,125,689 in FY 2022. Thanks to AAPD’s advocacy efforts, the DFLRP contains a funding preference for pediatric dental faculty members.1 The loan repayment program extends for five years, repaying a higher amount each year so long as the benefitted individual remains a full-time faculty member.2

The nine new awardees are:

  • University of Illinois (Chicago, IL)
  • University of Iowa (Iowa City, IA)
  • University of Louisville (Louisville, KY)
  • Tufts College (Boston, MA)
  • University of Minnesota (Minneapolis, MN)
  • University of Mississippi Medical Center (Jackson, MS)
  • New York University (New York, NY)
  • Temple University (Philadelphia, PA)
  • University of Tennessee (Memphis, TN)

Each awardee program will administer the loan repayment and identify the individual recipient (s) of such funds. Seven (7) of the nine awardees met the preference for pediatric dental faculty, and the other two indicate potential support for pediatric dental faculty. The AAPD will continue to highlight pediatric dental faculty benefitting from this program in future advocacy communications.

For more information about AAPD Title VII advocacy, contact Chief Operating Officer and General Counsel C. Scott Litch.

For more information about HRSA Title VII dental grant opportunities, contact Educational Development and Academic Support Manager Leola Royston M.P.H.

1 These are defined in HRSA’s Notice of Funding Opportunity as individuals who have completed a pediatric dental residency, have an appointment in a division or department of pediatric dentistry, and who teach in the field of pediatric dentistry at either the predoctoral or postdoctoral residency level. 2The institution will use grant funds to pay an amount equal to 10, 15, 20, 25, and 30 percent of the student loan balance, upon completion of each year of service.