In 2012 the AAPD through the Council on Government Affairs developed a state Public Policy Advocate initiative in order to strengthen and coordinate advocacy efforts by our state chapters. The Public Policy Advocate (PPA) position is designed to serve as the state pediatric dentistry association’s advocate for the oral health issues of infants, children, adolescents and patients with special health care and developmental needs. The PPA will help represent the state pediatric dentistry association in promoting children’s oral health issues with the state legislature and other elected bodies, state regulatory agencies (including Medicaid and health departments), licensing bureaus, professional health and child welfare organizations, oral health coalitions, foundations, institutions of dental education, publicly-funded safety net programs, and the private sector benefits industry. The PPA will also closely coordinate their activities with those of the state dental association. PPAs will serve as an advocacy liaison between the state pediatric dentistry association and the state dental association.

The PPA program is modeled on the successful efforts by Dr. Paul Reggiardo (former AAPD president), who served as PPA for the California Society of Pediatric Dentistry (CSPD) for many years. Dr. Reggiardo is currently the Executive Director of CSPD.

AAPD members interested in public policy issues in their state as well as policymakers and advocates for children’s oral health at the state level should feel free to contact the PPA in your state. Click here for the current list of state PPAs. For further information about the program please contact AAPD Chief Operating Officer and General Counsel C. Scott Litch at oed@aapd.org.

 State Public Policy Advocates (as of March 2019) 

Alabama
Dr. Stephen C. Mitchell
stevem@uab.edu
(205) 934-1136

Alaska
Dr. Jessica Blanco
jessicablancodmd@gmail.com
(907) 523-5437

Arkansas
Dr. Jeffrey D. Rhodes
jrhodes@smile-shoppe.com
(479) 631-6377

Arizona
Dr. Jessica L. Robertson
roberjes@icloud.com
(928) 779-0385

California
Dr. Natalie C. Mansour
natalie.usc.trojan@gmail.com
(818) 500-7330

Colorado
Dr. Jeffrey A. Kahl
kahlja@msn.com
(719) 522-0123

Connecticut
Dr. Douglas B. Keck
dougkeck@earthlink.net
(203) 245-1454

District of Columbia
Dr. Anupama R. Tate
atate@childrensnational.org
(202) 476-3559

Florida
Dr. Irwine Sainvil
faithfuldds@gmail.com
(305) 794-5686

Georgia
Dr. James I. Lopez
lope3017@bellsouth.net
(706) 324-1834

Hawaii
Dr. Lynn K. Fujimoto
fujimoto.lynn00@gmail.com
(808) 741-4486

Idaho
Dr. Josh Jenkins
jaj208@gmail.com
(208) 360-3445

Illinois
Dr. Charles S. Czerepak
pinedent@aol.com
(773) 880-5455

Indiana
Dr. John D. Hennette/ Dr. Terri Winn
cinhen@cinergymetro.net
info@kidsdentistofindiana.com
(765) 653-5437
(765) 362-5437

Iowa
Dr. Matthew K. Geneser
matt-geneser@uiowa.edu
(319) 335-7483

Louisiana
Dr. Suzanne E. Fournier
fouse06@gmail.com
(504) 410-3051

Maine
Dr. Stephen C. Mills
LMILLS5977@aol.com
(207) 883-4203

Maryland
Dr. Shari C. Kohn
thedentist4kids@comcast.net
(410) 771-8200

Massachusetts
Dr. Hubert J. Park
hubertpark@gmail.com
(617) 895-6700

Michigan
Dr. John H. Deppen
jhdeppen@gmail.com
(269) 323-8016

Minnesota
Dr. Elise Sarvas
esarvas@umn.edu
(919) 423-5969

Mississippi
Dr. Neva Eklund
Neklund1965@gmail.com
(601) 842-4341

Missouri
Dr. Aaron Bumann
aaron.bumann@gmail.com
(810) 733-5310

Montana
Dr. Kevin L. Rencher
mkrencher@msn.com
(406) 449-0189

Nevada
Dr. Lindsay Row
lindsayrow3@gmail.com
(702) 277-1039

Nebraska
Dr. Holly A. Randone
holly.randone@mypdsmail.com
(402) 462-6557

New Hampshire
Dr. Roger A. Achong
drachong@concordpediatricdentistry.com
(603) 224-3339

New Jersey
Dr. Maxim Sulla
maxsulla@yahoo.com
(732) 249-1010

New Mexico
Dr. Kris Hendricks
drhendricksdds@gmail.com
(505) 473-5437

New York
Dr. Rajesh Adhia
rajesh.adhia@nyumc.org
(718) 630-8783

North Carolina
Dr. Beau Meyer
beau_meyer@unc.edu
(919) 445-0505

North Dakota
Dr. D. Michael Goebel
drmikepc@hotmail.com
(701) 355-1142

Ohio
Dr. Homa Amini
Homa.Amini@nationwidechildrens.org
(614) 722-5651

Oklahoma
Dr. Ashley Orynich
ashleyorynich@gmail.com
(561) 445-8604

Oregon
Dr. Natasha Bramley
dr.natashabramley@gmail.com
(267) 237-3677

Pennsylvania
Dr. Ross M. Wezmar
pedormw@aol.com
(570) 346-7760

Rhode Island
Dr. Daniel J. Kane
dkane@chartercare.org
(401) 456-4441

South Carolina
Dr. Hannah Willis Rustin
hannahrwrustin@gmail.com
(803) 942-2709

South Dakota
Dr. Brent J. Bradley
bjbilly1@yahoo.com
(605) 341-3068

Tennessee
Dr. Joseph A. Faiz
josephfaiz@gmail.com
(615) 494-5437

Texas
Dr. William D. Steinhauer
wdsdds@texas.net
(210) 432-1510

Utah
Dr. L. Clark Romney
lcromney@hotmail.com
(801) 532-1402

Vermont
Dr. Brian D. Collins
bcinbigd@att.net
(802) 388-3553

Virginia
Dr. Patrice B. Wunsch
pbwunsch@vcu.edu
(804) 827-2698

Washington
Dr. John L. Gibbons
jkagib@comcast.net
(253) 627-6023

West Virginia
Dr. Vinod Miriyala
dr_vinod@hotmail.com
(740) 534-9231

Wisconsin
Dr. Colleen Collins Greene
cgreene@chw.org
(810) 394-6539