overview month week | day | details
 
 
 
August 2014
S M T W T F S
01 02
03 04 05 06 07 08 09
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31

Friday, August 15, 2014

Antibiotic Therapy in the Pediatric Patient: Indications, Resistance and Stewardship Webinar

11:00 AM - 12:30 PM



 August 15, 2014 at 12:00 PM EDT, 11:00 AM CDT, 10:00 AM MDT, 9:00 AM PDT (90 minutes) 
 

DESCRIPTION:

Antibiotics have long been an important adjunct in the management of dento-facial infections in the pediatric patient. Recent decades have seen changes in the understanding of clinical indications and resistant organisms have led to new concepts of antibiotic stewardship. This webinar will address; clinical indications for antibiotic therapy, their use as pain management adjuncts in the pediatric patient, and finally issues of compliance in the pediatric patient.

OBJECTIVES - After this webinar, participants should be able to;

  1. Discuss the basic pharmacodynamics of major antibiotic classes, and implications of the pediatric patient.
  2. Understand the rationale for clinical use of antibiotics for dento-facial infections, and hurdles parents may face in compliance.
  3. Define antibiotic stewardship and understand in relation to antibiotic-resistant organisms.
  4. Understand how antibiotics can aid in a pain management plan in pediatric odontogenic infections
SPEAKER
Dr._ThikkurissyDr. Thikkurissy is Professor and Director, Residency Program in the Division of Pediatric Dentistry and Orthodontics at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital. He received his dental degree from New York University College of Dentistry, as well as AEGD-1 certificate from the U.S. Air Force at Wright Patterson AFB, Dayton, Ohio. Thikkurissy received his certificate in Pediatric Dentistry and a Masters of Science from The Ohio State University College of Dentistry. He served on active duty in the U.S. Air Force for eight years, including Chief of Pediatric Dentistry at Ramstein Air Base in Germany. He was associate professor with tenure in the Division of Pediatric Dentistry and Community Oral Health at The Ohio State University College of Dentistry from 2006-2013. He is a Diplomate of the American Board of Pediatric Dentistry. He is the Chair of the Sedation and Anesthesia committee for the AAPD.  His research on the morbidity of early childhood caries has been cited in the Institute of Medicine 2011 report, and he has published actively in the area of acute and chronic dental pain in children.
 

Export to Outlook