Public Policy Advocates Initiative

In 2012 the AAPD through the Council on Government Affairs developed a state Public Policy Advocate initiative in order to strengthen and coordinate advocacy efforts by our state chapters. The Public Policy Advocate (PPA) position is designed to serve as the state pediatric dentistry association’s advocate for the oral health issues of infants, children, adolescents and patients with special health care and developmental needs. The PPA will help represent the state pediatric dentistry association in promoting children’s oral health issues with the state legislature and other elected bodies, state regulatory agencies (including Medicaid and health departments), licensing bureaus, professional health and child welfare organizations, oral health coalitions, foundations, institutions of dental education, publicly-funded safety net programs, and the private sector benefits industry. The PPA will also closely coordinate their activities with those of the state dental association. PPAs will serve as an advocacy liaison between the state pediatric dentistry association and the state dental association.

The PPA program is modeled on the successful efforts by Dr. Paul Reggiardo (past AAPD president and chair of the Council on Dental Benefit Programs) in serving as PPA for the California Society of Pediatric Dentistry over the past decade.

AAPD members interested in public policy issues in their state as well as policymakers and advocates for children’s oral health at the state level should feel free to contact the PPA in your state. Click here for the current list of state PPAs. For further information about the program please contact AAPD Chief Operating Officer and General Counsel C. Scott Litch at oed@aapd.org.

 

 State Public Policy Advocates (as of August, 2014)

State

Public Policy Advocate

Email Address

Phone

Alabama

Dr. Stephen C. Mitchell

stevem@uab.edu

(205) 934-1136

Arkansas

Dr. David A. Ciesla

ciesla1@hotmail.com

(479) 783-4182

Arizona

Dr. Timothy R. Wilson

dr.tim_apdo@yahoo.com

(480) 556-0600

California

Dr. Paul A. Reggiardo

reggiardo@prodigy.net

(714) 848-0234

Colorado

Dr. Jeffrey A. Kahl

kahlja@msn.com

(719) 522-0123

Connecticut

Dr. Douglas B. Keck

dougkeck@earthlink.net

(203) 245-1454

District of Columbia

Dr. Anupama R. Tate

atate@childrensnational.org

(202) 476-3559

Florida

Dr. Eli E. White, Jr.

drelijr@aol.com

(321) 242-8109

Georgia

Dr. James B. Hall, III

jimhall@adamember.net

(478) 743-0901

Iowa

Dr. Matthew K. Geneser

matt-geneser@uiowa.edu

(319) 335-7483

Illinois

Dr. Charles S. Czerepak

pinedent@aol.com

(773) 880-5455

Indiana

Dr. Charles Poland, III

weshinesmiles@gmail.com

(317) 849-2606

Kentucky

Dr. Al Pelphrey

dral@yourchildssmile.com

(606) 437-1461

Louisiana

Dr. Suzanne E. Fournier

fouse06@gmail.com

(504) 410-3051

Massachusetts

Dr. Anubha S. Sacheti

asacheti@post.harvard.edu

 

Maryland

Dr. Stuart D. Blumenthal

sblumenthal@gmail.com

(410) 321-0200

Michigan

Dr. John H. Deppen

jhdeppen@gmail.com

(269) 323-8016

Minnesota

Dr. James D. Nickman

james.nickman@att.net

(651) 484-8611

Missouri

Dr. Lori Henderson

drlori@ident.com

(573) 446-6868

Nevada

Dr. Dawn McClellan

mcclellan2@aol.com

(702) 432-3334

North Carolina

Dr. Kerry A Dove

kerry.dove@duke.edu

(919) 220-1416

North Dakota

Dr. D. Michael Goebel

drmikepc@hotmail.com

(701) 355-1142

Nebraska

Dr. Holly A. Portwood

holly.portwood@mypdsmail.com

(402) 462-6557

New Jersey

Dr. Irvin B. Sherman

info@shorechildrensdentalcare.com

(732) 775-1492

New York

Dr. Courtney H. Chinn

cc115@nyu.edu

Ohio

Dr. Homa Amini

Homa.Amini@nationwidechildrens.org

(614) 722-5651

Pennsylvania

Dr. Ross M. Wezmar

pedormw@aol.com

(570) 346-7760

Rhode Island

Dr. Daniel J. Kane

dkane@chartercare.org

(401) 456-4441

Tennessee

Dr. Joseph A. Faiz

josephfaiz@gmail.com

(615) 494-5437

Texas

Dr. William D. Steinhauer

wdsdds@texas.net

(210) 432-1510

Vermont

Dr. Brian D. Collins

bcinbigd@att.net

(802) 388-3553

Virginia

Dr. Patrice B. Wunsch

pbwunsch@vcu.edu

(804) 827-2698

Washington

Dr. John L. Gibbons

jkagib@comcast.net

(253) 627-6023

Wisconsin

Dr. Nicolet DeRose

nicoletderose@gmail.com

(262) 634-8662